twitter-eco-gloss.jpg



USING TWITTER To Build a PLN



1. Follow suggested teachers, professors, organizations, etc.

Here are a few suggestions:
•Tom Whitby @tomwhitby
•Larry Ferlazzo @larryferlazzo
•Lisa Dabbs @teachingwthsoul
•Donalynn Miller @donalynbooks
•Sean Banville @seanbanville
•English Education @english_edu
• Kelly Tenkely @KTenkelySteven Anderson @web20classroom
•Jerry Blumengarten @cybraryman1
• Vicki Davis @coolcatteacher
•Nicholas Provenzano @thenerdyteacher
•NCTE @ncte

2. Join in or just follow a live chat
• a hash tag in front of a word or phrase is not designed to be a cute "shoutout", it is a way to group tweets or even have a live discussion.

Using #topic_name is how a topic for a chat is designated

Tweetchat.com is a great site to use to participate in a chat because it filters only the tweets related to the hash tag and keeps you focused on the discussion


Below are some regularly schedules chats you might want to check out. THis is also a great way to find other connected educators to follow...

Chat for new and pre-service teachers #ntchat
Wednesdays
8pm ET/5pm PT

General education chat #edchat
Tuesdays
12 noon ET/ 9am PT
7pm ET/4pm PT

Check out this link for using Twitter for research within the classroom

http://khornberger.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/using-twitter-to-locate-the-latest-information-on-your-research-topic/